Growing up I frequently watched the movie Pollyana. The beautiful story of a young orphan girl who transforms an entire town with her “glad” attitude is inspiring to say the least. Pollyana plays the “glad game.” Even when things were not at their best she would find something good in it. What a beautiful attitude to have!

Living in Tanzania, East Africa, sometimes things are not at their best for me. I miss my family. I miss my friends. I miss American holidays. I miss cheese-its and reese cups. I miss clean feet. The list goes on and on. However, I am so glad to be here where so many are receptive to God’s word. I am glad that my children can be raised the next three years in an environment not clouded by sexuality. I am glad that I can give opportunities to those that are truly poverty stricken and needy. I am glad that I live beside a kahawa (coffee) plantation!

It would be so easy to be consumed with the things I miss and spend my days being sad. However, I will try daily to play the glad game. I will play it myself and encourage my children to play it as well. When life pulls us in so many directions it is easy to get overwhelmed. There is sickness, death, financial problems, spiritual problems, and sometimes just plain evil in our lives daily. Be thankful for what you have. Be content where you are in life. Be glad. And, if you can’t find anything to be glad about, then move over here for a week then move back and count your blessings!

Philippians 4:11 I have learned whatever state I am in to be content.

cropped-real.jpg
Mungu akubariki leo na kila siku

May God Bless you today and Everyday!

